Faithlife Sermons

Three Kinds Of Pride

Illustration  •  Submitted
0 ratings
Notes & Transcripts


Subject: PRIDE

Lewis B. Smedes affirms that hubris comes in three basic models: pride of power, pride of knowledge, and pride of virtue. And then he explains:

♦ A person with pride of power believes that his power itself gives him the right to do anything with his power that he gets into his head to do.

♦ A person with pride of knowledge believes that he has the whole truth and nothing but the truth in his head and that anything that contradicts his truth is a lie.

♦ A person with pride of virtue believes that he is God's model of virtue and that anybody whose way of life does not match his is probably living in sin.

[Lewis B. Smedes, Shame and Grace. San Francisco: HarperSanFrancisco, 1993, p. 149]

Related Media
Related Illustrations